Saturday, April 15, 2017

Fairy Tales by Hermann Hesse



Hermann Hesse's Fairy Tales (Märchen) is a collection of seven short philosophical fictions written between 1913 and 1918, prior to and during the First World War. The collection was first published in German in 1919.

In these philosophical fictions, Hesse challenged conventional intellectual life and the orthodoxy of the world. Unlike his earlier work, the stories did not lend themselves to rational interpretation, they were essentially fairy tales dealing with dream worlds, the subconscious and the realm of magic.

The stories, with the year in which they were written, are: "Augustus – 1913”, "The Poet – 1913”, "Strange News from Another Star – 1915”, "A Difficult Path - 1917”, "Fine Dream Sequence – 1916”, "Faldum - 1916" and "Iris 1918”.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...